Dark Chocolate and Red Wine Kladdkaka

The Big Blizzard of 2015 arrived this morning and what better time to bake something decadent and delicious? Everybody knows calories don’t count when you’re snowbound and cut off from the rest of the world, right? This could be your dinner! No one has to know.

image

This is a Swedish chocolate cake known as Kladdkaka. It roughly translates as “sticky” cake. So rustically gorgeous! I saw this recipe on Pinterest about a week ago and flipped. A flourless chocolate cake flavored with wine?  Sophisticated AND yummy. This cake has very few ingredients and is simple to make. I got the recipe here from Hummingbird High food blog.  Thanks,  Michelle!

This recipe starts with a whole lotta chopped chocolate. I used bittersweet.

image

Melted that in a double boiler with two sticks of European butter I had leftover from my Brown Butter and Vanilla Bean Weekend Cake.

image

Whipped up some eggs, sugar and vanilla for 5 minutes to get this lovely, pale yellow batter.

image

I folded the chocolate mixture into the egg mixture. I was supposed to fold until the batter was a uniform brown, but I gave up and poured this two-toned batter into the prepared springform pan. I think it looks pretty.

image

Baked the cake for 35 minutes, then let it cool on a rack for a couple of hours. I was so tempted to eat it warm, like a molten lava cake, but I exercised restraint.

image

When I finally tasted this cake I was floored! I’m embarrassed to admit it, but the phrase that passed through my head was OMFG! I’m also embarrassed to admit that I actually scarfed down the piece I was going to photograph. It was THAT good. A forkful of dense, creamy, dark chocolate, red wine deliciousness, with a delicate crumbling outer crust.

Here’s the piece I did photograph. Unfortunately, I  am unable to center anything properly on a plate.

image

Don’t wait for Valentine’s Day. Make this ASAP and share it with anyone and everyone you love!

Leave a Reply

