TWD: Gingerbread Buche de Noel

I can’t wait to make this Gingerbread Buche de Noel from Dorie Greenspan’s fabulous cookbook, Baking Chez Moi : Recipes From My Paris Home To Your Home Anywhere!  I’ve never made spongecake, or a rolled cake for that matter, but I have watched Dorie make the cake here. When it’s done, it should look like this. We’ll see…

Update: Ha Ha! I just looked at the recipe for the cake and the recipe looks quite complex. I may be way out of my league here! But I’m going to follow the directions and give it a shot. If it’s a total flop, I have it feeling it will make a pretty funny Pinterest fail!

In this festive recipe, Dorie Greenspan reinterprets the classic French bûche de Noël, a Christmas cake fashioned to look like a Yule log. Instead of the usual chocolate cake filled with ganache, she bakes a fragrant lightly spiced sponge cake and fills it with pecan cream cheese filling, while billowing marshmallow frosting evokes a snowdrift. (Photo: Andrew Scrivani for The New York Times)

One thought on “TWD: Gingerbread Buche de Noel

Leave a Reply

